Pull Your Pants Up…Young Fella

Pull your pants up young fella. Who told you that was cool? Better yet, why did you listen? Have you ever seen a baby with a loaded poop diaper? That’s exactly what you look like. Every time I see your pants below your waist, I think, why is that young man wearing a diaper and why can’t he find a toilet to do #2?

Pull your pants up young fella. Don’t you want a job? A career? Who’s going to hire someone that can’t find their waistline? Please understand. In the workplace, you have to shake hands. People will avoid you when your walk looks like a stance. Trust me, you won’t get a second chance.

Pull your pants up young fella. Do you see these fine, classy women out here? They don’t want you. The first thing they notice is that they’ll have to dress you. Ladies don’t have time for that. They like to take pictures. Why would they snap the camera when only your shirt and underwear will be captured in the image?

Pull your pants up young fella. I’m sure you know what they say about it coming from prison. You don’t want to send the wrong message, do you?

See, I used to be just like you. Somebody lied to me too. I thought I was doing something back in the day. I thought sagging made me tough until someone told me the truth. Sagging makes you weak, or vulnerable. You’re a thug, right? Maybe a wanna be. Who are you going to run after or run from if you have to hold your pants up the entire time?

The biggest thing I remember about wearing my pants down was how UNCOMFORTABLE it was. My thighs used to itch and hurt because of that mess. Now that my clothes fit, I breathe easily. Not to mention, I have a great career as a school teacher, a beautiful fiancé, the respect of my peers, and no one thinks my rear end is open to the public. Do yourself a favor. Pull your pants up young fella.

Rodney Jordan is a 33 year-old school teacher in Northern, Virginia. Jordan is also the author of two books, Tired of Being Black and From the Heart of a Teacher.

About jordanliterature

I am a school teacher, author, and motivational speaker.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

